Asia Cup 2018: Bangladesh beat Pakistan to qualify for final against India

bangladesh won against pakistan

Bangladesh beat Pakistan by 37 runs on Thursday in Abu Dhabi to qualify for the final of the 2018 Asia Cup.

Bangladesh, electing to bat, were dismissed for 239 in 48.5 overs. Mushfiqur Rahman and Mohammad Mithun scored half centuries.

Rahman was the top scorer with 99 runs and Mithun chipped in with his 60-run knock.

Junaid Khan was the pick of the bowlers for Pakistan as he took four wickets on his comeback. Shaheen Shah Afridi and Hasan Ali grabbed two wickets each.

Pakistan, chasing a target of 240 runs, managed 202/9 in their 50 overs.

Imam-ul-Haq was the stand out batsman for Pakistan as he made 83 runs. Asif Ali and Shoaib Malik contributed 31 and 30 runs with the bat respectively.

Mustafizur Rahman grabbed four wickets for Bangladesh while Mehidy Hasan Miraz finished with two wickets. Rubel Hossain, Mahmudullah and Soumya Sarkar took a wicket each as well.

Mushfiqur Rahim was named the Player of the Match for his performance with the bat.

Bangladesh will play India in the final in Dubai on Friday.



Liton Das b Junaid Khan  6
Soumya Sarkar c Fakhar Zaman b Junaid Khan 0
Mominul Haque b Shaheen Afridi  5
Mushfiqur Rahim c Sarfraz Ahmed b Shaheen Afridi 99
Mohammad Mithun c&b Hasan Ali  60
Imrul Kayes lbw Shadab Khan  9
Mahmudullah b Junaid Khan  25
Mehedi Hasan c (Sub) b Junaid Khan  12
Mashrafe Mortaza c Fakhar Zaman b Hasan Ali 13
Rubel Hossain Run Out Hasan Ali  1
Extras 0b 8lb 0nb 0pen 1w  9
Total (48.5 overs)  239 all out 

Fall of Wickets: 1-5 Sarkar, 2-12 Haque, 3-12 Das, 4-156 Ali, 5-167 Kayes, 6-197 Rahim, 7-221 Miraz, 8-230 Mahmudullah, 9-239 Hossain, 10-239 Mortaza Did Not Bat: Rahman

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk 

Junaid Khan 9 1 19 4
Shaheen Afridi 10 1 47
Hasan Ali 9.5 0 60
Mohammad Nawaz 8 0 39
Shoaib Malik 2 0 14 0
Shadab Khan 10 0 52 1


Fakhar Zaman c Rubel Hossain b Mehedi Hasan 1
Imam ul-Haq st Liton Das b Mahmudullah 83
Babar Azam lbw Mustafizur Rahman  1
Sarfraz Ahmed c Mushfiqur Rahim b Mustafizur Rahman 10
Shoaib Malik c Mashrafe Mortaza b Rubel Hossain 30
Shadab Khan c Liton Das b Soumya Sarkar 4
Asif Ali st Liton Das b Mehedi Hasan 31
Mohammad Nawaz c (Sub) b Mustafizur Rahman 8
Hasan Ali c Mashrafe Mortaza b Mustafizur Rahman 8
Shaheen Afridi Not Out  14
Junaid Khan Not Out  3
Extras 1b 2lb 1nb 0pen 5w  9
Total (50 overs)  202-9 

Fall of Wickets: 1-2 Zaman, 2-3 Azam, 3-18 Ahmed, 4-85 Malik, 5-94 Khan, 6-165 Ali, 7-167 ul-Haq, 8-181 Ali, 9-186 Nawaz

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk 

Mehedi Hasan 10 1 28
Mustafizur Rahman 10 2 43 4
Mashrafe Mortaza 7 1 33 0
Rubel Hossain 8 0 38 1
Mahmudullah 10 0 38 1
Soumya Sarkar 5 0 19 1

Umpires: Shaun George and Chettithody Shamsuddin
Video: Marais Erasmus
Match Referee: David Boon

Spread the love
  • 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *